Women Love Sex Too! And No, It Doesn’t Make Us Sluts

20 Mar

I have a lot of guy friends that significantly outnumbers my amount of girlfriends. A typical weekend night consists of throwing back a few brewskis, (guys love adding “ski” at the end of everything…I still don’t know why) watching some type of perverse cartoon (South Park, Archer…) and of course the storytelling of the weekly sex-capades. Since I’m considered a “bro”, there’s no detail they believe is unfit for my ears. Besides, I might have a whole new perspective on why Dawn cheated on Dan, and that could be valuable information!

“Yeah, she just got down and started going at it.”

“I told you she’d be into it bro.”

“She’s such a little slut.”

Slut…the word for women who have a plethora of sexual partners. So apparently, we are not allowed to carnivorously desire, and engage in sex like men. Please! As a woman with a high sex drive, this aggravates me.

Corinne Fisher and Krystyna Hutchinson have also had a lot of sex — and they’re not afraid to talk about it either.

GWF

After Fisher went through a rough breakup, the two New York-based stand-up comedians, both in their mid-20s, decided to pool their collective un-shame about sex and create a podcast in which they interviewed men they’d slept with. The first episode of “Guys We F**ked, The Anti Slut-Shaming Podcast” was released in December. Since then, their audience has grown quickly, and the show now has over 200,000 subscribers on SoundCloud.

“We’re saying, have a lot of sex and be proud of it,” Hutchinson explains at the beginning of the debut episode.

That friendship extends to no-holds-barred, frank discussions about sex. The pair touch on everything from dirty talk to disastrous one-night stands with equal parts honesty and humor. But “Guys We F**ked” isn’t meant to titillate — Hutchinson and Fisher hope that the podcast encourages women to feel more comfortable with themselves and everyone to have more great, shame-free sex.

The Huffington Post interviewed the pair on their response to how society’s opinion of sexually empowered women is flawed.

Why do you think that slut-shaming is such an issue in our culture? Are people just terrified of women as sexual beings?
K: Yes, I think people are afraid. Hate stems from fear and I think they’re just afraid of a woman who is empowered and sexually in charge and in control of her own body. And I also think that some people were raised to feel this way because the people in their lives didn’t have a positive attitude towards women, and they don’t realize that it’s messed up.

What do you hope listeners take away from the podcast?
K: We want to make people feel more comfortable in their own skin. We just got a message from a girl from New Delhi, India, about how she loves the podcast because it makes her feel like it’s OK to be comfortable with your sexuality and enjoy sex. And that made me so happy.

Do you two consider yourselves feminists? Do you shy away from that term at all?
K: I don’t shy away from the word “feminist.” I think it’s unfortunate that people have a negative connotation of that term and I’m guilty of being that way too, sometimes. I find myself saying, “Well, I’m not like a feminist or anything, but…” But what feminism means to me is owning your sh*t. And under that definition I am absolutely a feminist.

C: Yeah, I like to call myself a modern feminist. I loved the Spice Girls because they dressed however they wanted and they rocked their hot bodies, but they were still promoting a really positive message. And I think to say that to be a feminist you can’t show off your body or be overtly sexual is bullsh*t. Jesus, if I can’t wear a miniskirt in my 20s, when can I?

Are you hooked yet? Want to hear more? Listen to the podcast that started it all…

https://soundcloud.com/guyswefucked/vinnie

Leave a Reply

